Hal Hill is awarded the Officer of the Order of Australia

We are deeply honoured and humbled to learn that our own Professor Hal Hill receives the Officer of the Order of Australia during the Australia Day celebration 2020.

Professor Hal Christopher Hill receives the Order of Australia for distinguished service to education in the field of economic policy development and to Australia-Indonesia relations.

Hal Hill was the former Head of ANU Indonesia Project and has been a distinguished member of Indonesia Project’s academics since the 1970s. Hal Hill was the former Head of ANU Indonesia Project and has been a distinguished member of Indonesia Project’s academics since the 1970s. During his time with ANU Indonesia Project, Hal has conducted high-quality research and analysis on Indonesia’s economic development and worked tirelessly on developing and strengthening relations between Australia and Indonesia.

Hal also co-founded the High-Level Policy Dialogues that ANU Indonesia Project organises together with the Indonesian Ministry of Finance since 2007.

Hal Hill currently sits in Indonesia Project’s Advisory Board and the Bulletin of Indonesian Economic Studies‘ Editorial Board.

At Indonesia Project, Hal has also supervised and mentored many Indonesian scholars who have now continued to make extraordinary impacts in Indonesia, amongst them are Dr Muhammad Chatib Basri, who was the Indonesian Minister of Finance and Professor Mari Pangestu, who is currently World Bank Managing Director for Development Policy and Partnership.

Congratulations, Hal!

Below is Professor Hal Hilll’s biographical notes as listed in the Australia Day 2020 Honours list.

Australian National University

  • H.W. Arndt Professor Emeritus, Southeast Asian Economies, Arndt Corden Department of Economics, Crawford School, Australian National University College of Asia and the Pacific, current.
  • Co-Founder, Southeast Asia Institute, 2014.
  • Co-Founder and Steering Committee Member, Australasian Development Economics Workshop, since 2004.
  • Convenor, H.W. Arndt Memorial Lecture, since 2003.
  • Former Head, The Indonesia Project.

Bilateral relations

  • Co-Founder and Contributor, Australia-Indonesia High Level Policy Dialogue, since 2007, organised by The Indonesia Project.
  • President, The East Asian Economic Association, current.
  • Member, International Advisory Panel, ISEAS Yusof Ishak Institute, Singapore, current.
  • Board Member, Bank Indonesia Institute.

Visiting Academic Appointments

  • University of the Philippines.
  • Gadjah Mada University (Indonesia).
  • The Institute of Southeast Asian Studies (Singapore).
  • Oxford University.
  • Columbia University.
  • The International University of Japan.
  • The Tinbergen Institute (Netherlands).
  • The National University of Malaysia.
  • Freiburg University (Germany).

Publications Author, Co-Author or Editor, 18 books and 160 journal articles and book chapters, including:

  • Co-Author, Asia Rising: Growth and Resilience in an Uncertain Global Economy; Edward Elgar, 2013.
  • Co-Author, Cambodia: Rapid Growth with Weak Institutions, Asian Economic PolicyReview, 2013.
  • Author, The Political Economy of Policy Reform: Insights from Southeast Asia, Asian Development Review, 2013.
  • Co-Author, Indonesian Universities in Transition: Catching Up and Opening Up, Bulletin of Indonesian Economic Studies, 2012.
  • Co-Author, Diagnosing the Indonesian Economy: Toward Inclusive and Green Growth, Anthem Press, 2012.
  • Co-Author, Malaysia’s Development Challenges: Graduating from the Middle,Routledge, 2012.
  • Co-Author, Indonesian Growth Dynamics, Asian Economic Policy Review, 2011.
  • Co-Author, Indonesian Industrialisation: A Latecomer Adjusting to Crises, Pathways to Industrialisation in the Twenty-First Century: New Challenges and Emerging Paradigms, Oxford University Press, 2013.

Awards and recognition include:

  • Presidential Friend of Indonesia, 2010.
  • Fellow, Academy of the Social Sciences in Australia.

Dates & times

Sunday 26 January 2020


Updated:  8 July 2020/Responsible Officer:  Crawford Engagement/Page Contact:  CAP Web Services Team