Three Kian Wie Distinguished Visiting Professorship

About the Thee Kian Wie Distinguished Visiting Professorship

The Thee Kian Wie distinguished visiting professorship is a joint initiative of DFAT and ANU to honour the contributions of Dr Thee Kian Wie. Dr Thee Kian Wie, who passed away in 2014, was one of Indonesia’s outstanding academic and public intellectuals.

For 50 years he worked at the leading Indonesian Institute of Sciences, LIPI. His work was widely recognized both at home and abroad. He received the Indonesian government award, Bintang Jasa Utama, in 2002 for public service.

The Australian National University also awarded him an honorary doctorate degree in 2004. For more than 30 years, he was a great friend of the ANU, and in particular the Indonesia Project.

The program is to invite a highly distinguished Indonesian economist to take up a visiting position each year in the Arndt-Corden Department of Economics for up to 3 months during the period of appointment.

List of the Thee Kian Distinguished Professors

Professor Iwan Jaya Azis
Professor Mari Pangestu
Dr M Chatib Basri

Updated:  27 February 2024/Responsible Officer:  Crawford Engagement/Page Contact:  CAP Web Services Team